Kenton County Conservation District

The mission of the Kenton County Conservation District is to ensure that sound land use activities, the prevention of soil erosion, water quality protection, and other environmental quality issues are given due consideration and priority in the management of Kenton County's natural resources. This will maintain and improve the quality of life in Kenton County.

Your conservation district is a Special Purpose Government Entity responsible for carrying out a comprehensive program to protect our soil, water, and other natural resources. It works closely with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and the KY Cabinet for Environmental and Public Protection. The county conservation district operates in the Kentucky Division of Conservation under the Kentucky Department for Natural Resources.

Kenton County Conservation District Board

The Kenton County Conservation District Board meets on the second Wednesday of each month, 5:00 p.m., at the Independence Courthouse:

  • 5272 Madison Pike, Independence, Kentucky, 41051

Elected Board Members:

  • Gailen Bridges, Chairman
  • Marc Hult, Vice Chairman
  • Chris Kaeff, Secretary/Treasurer
  • William Schneider
  • Nancy Kloentrup
  • Jennifer Myka
  • Amy Powell

Staff Members:

  • Zachary Traylor, District Manager
  • Susan Ware, District Administrative Secretary

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service staff:

  • Ian Young, Supervisory Natural Resource Manager
  • John Stork, Soil Conservationist

Division of Conservation Field Representative:

  • James Roe 
    • KY Division of Conservation
      300 Sower Blvd., Frankfort, KY  40601
      Phone: 502-782-6849