News Flash

Home - Carousel

Posted on: August 24, 2022

2022 Pioneer Award Honoree - Terry Foster

Terry Foster and Fiscal Court members.

Kenton County Fiscal Court recognized 2022 Pioneer Award honoree Terry Foster for his contributions to the community.

Terry Foster graduated from Booth Memorial Hospital School of Practical Nursing in 1977 as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). After working for four years as an LPN in both the Emergency Department and Intensive Care Unit, he received his registered nurse (RN) diploma from The Christ Hospital School of Nursing and, in 1997, received his Master’s Degree in Critical-Care and Trauma Nursing from the University of Cincinnati College of Nursing and Health.

Terry Foster with Pioneer Award

He has held positions of volunteer, ward clerk, staff nurse, charge nurse, critical-care instructor, clinical director and night supervisor, at both the Mercy Hospitals of Cincinnati, Ohio, and at St. Elizabeth Medical Center in Northern Kentucky.   He has four national certifications in critical-care nursing, emergency nursing, pediatric emergency nursing, and trauma nursing.

Foster was elected in 2018 to a three-year term on the Emergency Nurses Association (ENA) Board of Directors and, in 2021, served as the Secretary/Treasurer. He is the 2023 President-Elect of the ENA. Terry has been featured in ten episodes of The Learning Channels (TLC) national TV program Untold Stories of the ER, and he is the first RN to ever be featured on this physician only based television show.

Terry Foster has been the recipient of the Judith Kelleher Award, which is the highest award given by the Emergency Nurses Association and he was inducted as a Fellow into the Academy of Emergency Nursing, an internationally appointed group of accomplished emergency nursing leaders from around the world. He has devoted his entire life to the people of Kenton County.

The Pioneer Award is bestowed on residents of Kenton County who provided outstanding service to the community and exemplify the highest standards of personal integrity.   It honors those who demonstrate servant leadership combined with awareness of the needs of fellow residents.

The Kenton County Ethics Commission reviews nominations, identifies four deserving individuals, and forwards their names to the Kenton County Fiscal Court. 

The 2022 Kenton County Pioneer Award honorees are Steve Hensley, Terry Foster, Alecia Webb-Edgington, and Larry Maxey. The 2021 Pioneer Award recipients were Wilbert Ziegler, Ray Hebert, Ken Harper, and Mark Guilfoyle. The 2020 Pioneer Award recipients were Bill Goetz, Burr Travis, William Funke, Garren Colvin, and Arnold Simpson. The 2019 Pioneer Award recipients were Jim Claypool, Rick and Mary Hulefeld, and John Salyers. The 2018 Pioneer Award recipients were Ralph Drees, Mer Grayson, Robert Hoffer, Kim Kitchen, Ed Schroeder, and Parker Willman.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - Carousel